In Hindu Mythology god Vishnu is the preserver and protector of creation. In the Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, Vishnu is the embodiment of mercy and goodness, the self-existent, all-pervading power that preserves the universe and maintains the cosmic order Dharma. Goddess Laxmi is the wife of Lord Vishnu.  In Hindu Mythology God Vishnu is famous with various Aavatars.

  •  Matsya or the Fish incarnation : In this Avatar Vishnu saved the Saint Vaivaswata.
  • Kurma or the Turtle incarnation : at the Churning of the Ocean, Vishnu as Kurma offered his back as a pivot on which to rest the Mount Mandara, used as a churning stick by gods and demons.
  • Varaha or the Boar incarnation of Vishnu : demon Hiranyaksha was Killed.
  • Narasingha or the Lion incarnation : As a creature who was half-lion and half-man.
  • Vamana or the Dwarf incarnation : Demon Bali was Killed.
  • Parasurama : He killed the King Kartavirya, who had stolen the holy cow Kamadhenu.
  • Ram : He killed the demon King Ravana, who had abducted Sita.
  • Krishna : He killed Kansa, son of a demon and the tyrannical King of Mathura.
  • Buddha : Vishnu incarnated to remove suffering from the world.
  • Kalki : still to come at the end of the Kaliyuga or the present age of decline.


Here is the list of Vishnu Avatars:

  1. Matsya
  2. Kurma
  3. Varaha
  4. Narasimha
  5. Vamana
  6. Parashurama
  7. Rama
  8. Krishna
  9. Buddha
  10. Kalki

Vishnu Wallpaper

Vishnu Avatar Vishnu Avatar

share medium Vishnu Avatar